Introduction, and a Pilates question

Body: 

Hello all--A newbie here. I am a 44-y/o mother of a 2-y/o boy. I had a cesarean. I am no more than 10 pounds overweight. I have none of the typical causes of cystocele, according to 2 doctors. Yet, I have one. I noticed it within the past 2 months, and the only thing I can think that may have started it was a few beginner Pilates mat classes I took in August at the gym at work. I searched the archives and it looks like I may be right...??

I am so frustrated that my little attempt to "get back in shape" actually may have harmed my body. I've taken ballet classes most of my life, but in the past 3 or 4 years, all my exercising has just stopped. I sit all day on my rear end (I'm an editor) and I have chronic lower back pain too. Everything is just sagging and gross and my butt is starting to look like a wide, flat satchel! Now this!

Anyway, the doctors both said surgery was an option, but I really could just live with it and see. They are so nonchalant about it. I even told the urologist about my dancing and he basically scoffed at me. He said that's like saying because you dance your intestines should be in good shape....well, shouldn't they??? Why is that so silly to think?

But, just like another wonderful internet forum helped me conceive my sweet son 3 years ago, I hope this new forum can help me repair the damage I may have done to my body. I'm so glad I found this place.

Hi Sue,

Welcome, and thanks for writing to us. Yes, your intestines should be in good shape from all your years of dancing, and in general the medical profession has a huge blind spot regarding what it means to be healthy!

It started as a theory of mine that exercises such as the core mat program of Pilates might not be good for women, but we

Dear Christine

Hi Sue,

Yes, prolapse is often less pronounced upon rising, given that it

Hi Sue

I just picked up on your question 3. That you "can't figure out why you are not in menopause".